The Simple Things

by Sarah Lisi
December 10, 2010

Treats for working out? I know I’m not five, and I certainly don’t need a carrot to entice me, but sometimes a little reward does wonders. Here are a few of my faves.

Frozen yogurt

I’m newly obsessed with the tart frozen treat shops that are popping up everywhere. I know Pinkberry made it famous, but thankfully for the rest of the world, other people are getting in on the action. A small cup of yogurt topped with fresh fruit like mangoes or blueberries is my number one choice.Image uploaded to Flickr by Debs

The perfect pair of workout pants

I have yet to find them, but I’m always on the lookout. You know the ones I’m talking about: perfect waist (not too high and not too low), right length, won’t fade and most importantly are not see-through. One of these days when I find this elusive treasure I will be buying them in multiples.

Pretty paper goods

Since I’ve given up my expensive daily latte habit, I have a few extra bucks to spend. Having some sweet letterpress note cards on hand is one of life’s simple pleasures. Sometimes I just want to keep them for myself because they’re so pretty, but I know they’re meant to be enjoyed so off goes a handwritten note.Photo credit Seesaw Letterpress

Necklaces

I’m a necklace girl, so when I see something fun and statement-y I’m always tempted. I think there’s nothing better to perk up my uniform of jeans, flats and tees than something a little flashy.Photo credit Live Love Photography

A delicious meal

I would say that I’m a newish foodie. As I’ve gotten older, when I go out to dinner I always want it to be good. There’s something special about the perfect meal. I don’t work out so that I can go crazy with food, but I do love that I never feel remorse for eating something amazing. Total side note, this has actually affected me more than I thought. Those Halloween Kit-Kat leftovers have gone uneaten because instead of going for mediocre chocolate, I’ll hold out for the good stuff. Willpower, who knew? Yay me!Image uploaded to Flickr by Andreas Thell

Leave a Reply

